Kyu requirements and belt colors for students under 18 years of age and below.

Grading requirements for youth students:

Kyu New Belt Minimum Time Required Kata Required Kumite Advanced & Special Trainings
10th Kyu to 9th Kyu Yellow 30 Classes Taikyoku Shodan
Heian Shodan
1-on-1 Kumite
9th Kyu to 8th Kyu Orange 30 Classes Heian Nidan 1-on-1 Kumite
8th Kyu to 7th Kyu Blue 30 Classes Heian Sandan 1-on-1 Kumite
7th Kyu to 6th Kyu Green 30 Classes Heian Yondan 1-on-1 Kumite
6th Kyu to 5th Kyu Purple Stripe 30 Classes Heian Godan 1-on-1 Kumite
5th Kyu to 4th  Kyu Purple 30 Classes Tekki Shodan 2-on-1 Kumite 1 Special Training
4th Kyu to 3rd Kyu Brown 60 Classes Bassai Dai
2-on-1 Kumite
3rd  Kyu to 2nd Kyu Black Stripe 60 Classes Tekki Nidan
Kanku Dai
Bo Sho
2-on-1 Kumite
Self Defense 1
2 Advanced Trainings
2nd Kyu to 1st Kyu 2 Black Stripes 60 Classes Tekki Sandan
2-on-1 Kumite
Self Defense 2
2 Advanced Trainings
1st Kyu to Jr Shodan  Jr. Black Belt (Striped Belt) 60 Classes Hangetsu 2-on-1 Kumite
Self Defense 3
2 Advanced &
1 Special Trainings

*Please see your kyu booklet for kihon (basic technique) requirements.